What is Glide?

Glide is a video messenger that allows you to send and receive short video messages that can be seen live (as you're recording) or later (like a text message).

Why video text and not video chat?

There are already loads of great video chat apps out there. We're not trying to replace them, we are giving people a more convenient way to keep in touch through video that doesn't need scheduling. Traditional video chat requires you and your friends to be online at the same time, which isn't always possible. The great thing about Glide is that you can send or watch a message whenever you want, regardless of whether your friends are online.

Why not send videos with a messaging app?

You could, but that would take ages. Messaging apps require you to record, preview / edit, and then upload - whereas Glide is already sending your video message the moment you start recording.

Who can see my videos?

Glide is a private messaging service. Only friends in the chat you send a message to will see it. You and your friends can also share messages from Glide to social networks and friends outside the app. We take your privacy seriously and only use your information to improve your Glide experience. Feel free to read our privacy policy.

Does Glide cost money?

Nope, it's 100% free.

Where can I follow updates on Glide?

Glide-related news, including app updates, new features and platform support can be found on Facebook and Twitter.

Can I use Glide on my phone?

Glide is available on iPhones and iPods with iOS 6+ and Android versions 2.3+

Where do I find Glide?

Check us out on the Appstore and the Play Store.

Why do I have to sign up with my phone number?

We use your contact list to connect you with friends - and the easiest way for friends to find you is your phone number. We don’t share your number with anyone.

Why do I have to upload a picture?

When you’re in a chat your icon appears at the top so friends can recognise you easily. If you’re uncomfortable displaying a picture of yourself you can upload any picture from your camera roll or take a picture of your foot.

How does Glide work?

Unfortunately, we can't tell you how we do it. We can, however, make something up.

Every video message you send is carried around the world on the backs of tiny teleporting green elephant ninjas who gain their powers from drinking exactly half their weight in lychee-flavored soda. We found them unemployed in an alley in New York.

Do the videos take up space on my phone?

All Glide videos are saved in the cloud, so you don't have to worry about storage.

What connection do I need to use Glide?

You can use Glide on 3G, LTE or WiFi.

What is a PIN?

Your PIN is your personal Glide ID. You can find it under your name on the menu. (swipe to the right on the chat list) You can add friends by their PIN by pressing "Add Friends" and they can add you the same way with your PIN.

What if I find a bug?

We're really proud of our app, but it's not perfect (yet). Let us know if you see a bug and we'll squash it for you. Metaphorically.

To send us a bug report, open the menu by swiping to the right on the main page in the app and pressing Feedback (iOS) or Report a Bug (Android)

If you encounter a bug with a video you sent or received, long press it (Android) or slide it up (iOS) and press Report.

When I press "Connect to Facebook" it says "Please confirm the connection to Facebook to use glide"

Go to Settings → Privacy → Facebook and turn the slider on for Glide.

If you don't see Glide there, check on Facebook settings that you have 3rd party apps enabled.

The camera button is unpressable, I can't record a message.

(iOS only) Go to the menu (swipe to the right on the main page) and press reset connections.

IMPORTANT: This stops any videos you may have been sending. Use only when necessary.

I didn’t get a confirmation text on my phone

You can resend it by pressing “Text me” under “Get new code”

I can’t find my friends

Make sure they’re in your address book or that you’re facebook friends with them and you’re connected to Facebook. To do this, go to your profile and press “Connect with Facebook”, then go to your friends list and pull to reload.

Why are there people I don’t know in my chat list?

Either they changed their name and picture to something you don’t recognise, or you’re in their address book and they’re not in yours.

How do I block a user?

iOS: On the chat list or your friends list, tap the chat menu icon (three dots next to that user) and select "Block".
Android: In the chat with that friend, tap the chat menu icon (3 dots on the top right) and select "Block"

How do I unblock a user?

iOS: Go to the left menu, tap the Settings icon and open "Blocked Users". Then tap on a user and select "Unblock".
Android: Send a message to a blocked friend to unblock them.

How can I change my name/ picture?

Swipe to the left on the chat list and press the gear icon next to your name.

I changed my name/ picture but my old one is showing up

Your new name/picture should show up when your friends refresh.

How do I know if someone’s seen my video?

When someone watches your video (except in a group chat) you will get a notification.

Why am I getting texts from Glide?

The text(s) you received are from people who have your phone number and chose to invite you to Glide. Click the link to accept their invitation and download Glide!

Click here to stop receiving these texts.

My question isn't listed here.

Then email it to us at support@glide.me